Food

What to Eat Wednesday

So I thought it might be fun to start a weekly theme post – welcome to “What To Eat Wednesday!”

Every Wednesday, I will share everything that I eat and drink throughout the day. I thought this might be a fun way for you to see how quick & easy it can be to eat healthy, get some fun new recipe ideas, and inspire you to start your own healthy eating journey.

Whether you are Paleo or not, when you start to really think about the food you are putting in your body, it becomes a lot easier to eat healthy. For me, snapping pictures and sharing what I am eating helps me to be accountable for the food choices I am making.

So here is the first installment!

This morning I woke up and did NOT want to get out of bed. Thankfully, I have a husband who motivates people for a living and he was not taking no for an answer when it was time to get up and work out. I know I would have regretted not going. Now, I have a burn throughout every muscle in my legs and that is something to be proud of!

Processed with VSCOcam with x4 preset

To get my belly full of food, I chose a Chocolate Chip Quest Bar to eat on the way to gym. I wake up without an appetite but it is not a good idea to lift weights on a completely empty stomach.

Today was leg day – I worked my legs so hard I thought I was going to throw up. It was insane. So, when I got home I needed a breakfast full of protein!

Scrambled Eggs w/ Ham & Sweet Onions

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

This is barely a recipe because it is so simple. Nothing better than scrambled eggs filled w/ stuff – they are quick and easy to make and ready in minutes!

What you need

8 Eggs, whisked

4 slices nitrate free ham, diced

1 small sweet (yellow) onion, diced

Preferred cooking oil spray (I use olive oil or coconut)

Sea salt + pepper, to taste

What to do

Grease a large saucepan or skillet

Toss in sweet onions and sauté for a few moments (to let onions get soft)

Add diced ham and pour in eggs.

Once the eggs start to become solid, stir them around to expose the entire mixture to the heat.

The eggs will be done when they are fluffy and there is no liquid left.

Put on a plate and ENJOY!

*Note: I was making eggs for both me and the hubby – if you are making eggs just for yourself, probably 2 – 3 eggs will suffice and cut the ratios of ham and onions.

Because we got home from the gym around 10, it was pretty late by the time I ate breakfast. And after that, I had to go into work for a while. It was 2:00 by the time I got home and realized that I hadn’t ate lunch.

Because dinner isn’t too far away – I figured on something quick, easy, and light.

Brusselsprouts + Chicken Sausage

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

What you need

1 package pre-cooked chicken apple sausage, all natural + nitrate free.

2 tbps Garlic sea salt

3-4 tbs olive oil

What to do

Preheat the oven to 400°

Toss your brussel sprouts in olive oil then lay on a baking sheet.

Sprinkle garlic salt over the top of the brussel sprouts

Bake for 30-35 minutes until the brussel sprouts start to turn crisp

When the brussel sprouts have about 10 minutes left, start your chicken sausage

Place a medium saucepan over medium-high heat

Grease the pan with 1tbs olive oil then toss in your chicken sausage

Because it is pre-cooked, you really only need it to get warmed. I like my chicken sausage a little crispy though so I cook until the slices start to brown.

When the brusselsprouts are done and your sausage is warm, combine into one bowl and enjoy the yumminess.

*Note: Any brand of chicken sausage works – today, I used Trader Joe’s chicken apple. Personally, I like the Aidell’s chicken apple sausage best (you can find it at Target or Cub Foods). You can also sub any flavor of chicken sausage you like – doesn’t have to be chicken apple. Although, there are no two flavors that I think go better together than brussel sprouts and chicken apple. Just saying.

After lunch, I decided to try a new chocolate chip cookie recipe – I am seriously obsessed with sweets lately, which is pretty rare because I was mostly a salty treat person.

I used Danielle Walker’s Real Deal Chocolate Chip from Against All Grain. I follow AAG on Facebook and she posted the recipe along with a picture of what looked like the most delicious chocolate chip cookies I ever saw – so I thought I better try them!

Seriously, they were so freakin delicious! Try them – and buy her cook books. Danielle Walker knows her food! For the recipe: http://againstallgrain.com/2012/08/29/real-deal-chocolate-chip-cookies/

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Do those not look amazing?

We had planned hamburgers w/ sweet potato fries for dinner but missed one crutial step… thawing the beef. Looks like the hamburgers will be tomorrow’s delicious dinner. So instead? I’m embarrassed to admit that I took the easy way out and also used my cheat for the week – Dominos gluten free pizza.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Ok, so it isn’t Paleo – oops. But we all have to live a little! Seriously though, this gluten free pizza is so delicious that it makes me question whether or not it is really gluten free. I get mine with light cheese, pepperoni, Italian sausage, green and black olives and mushrooms.

Just remember that everything in life is about balance. A slice or two of gluten free pizza every once in a while isn’t going to hurt you – neither is traditional pizza – as long as you save those splurges for just every once in a while.

Buuuut if we are really trying to maintain balance – I should probably stop baking. My sweets may be gluten free and full of protein but I lost count of the cookies I have eaten today. I think we are past moderation there 😉

Leave a comment